Stratégie en entrepreneuriat : définissez votre plan de vol

Entrepreneurship strategy: define your flight plan

Developing a strategy for your business: what to do (and what not to do!)

Develop a commercial strategy is essential when starting an activity. It does not matter whether you sell products or services, whether your company operates internationally or whether you are a self-employed artisan: you are concerned. Strategy is the basis of a business model value creator. Thanks to it, you can clearly identify which are your Goals, then decide what actions to take to achieve them. Simple and refined, development strategies can also be very sophisticated and impact all aspects of your business: marketing, pricing, customer relationship, distribution and even the product or service. It doesn't matter as long as they adapt to your business and its needs. The ultimate goal of all entrepreneurship strategy is indeed the sustainability and development of your activity. So you have to think about it before everything else!

stratégie-entrepreneuriat

Why is it necessary to have a commercial strategy?

Would you agree to embark on a trek through the Amazon without a map and without a guide?
I suppose not ! It's a bit the same thing with entrepreneurship and it is not for nothing that we talk about strategic roadmap or flight plan when you create or manage a business, very small or large company. The commercial strategy, also known as development, is of invaluable help at all stages of the life of a company.

To start a business

At the project stage, designing a strategy helps you to clarify and structure your thinking, to welcome new ideas, to make adjustments. You assess the market, you better understand the risks, you plan the resources to minimize them and face future difficulties. By defining your goals, you can immediately choose the material, human and financial means that will allow you to reach them. Business strategy is a guide for the future. Note also that a good business strategy is an effective communication tool to develop a business plan and discussing with partners, in particular investors such as banks and establishments from which you may be required to apply for aid and loans.

To perpetuate your business

Then? Then, the company does not become an aircraft piloted automatically, which is perpetuated thanks to its achievements. This utopian model is not (or no longer?) Viable, because everything now fluctuates very quickly. Theimpact of competition on the company can be important if you are not careful. Indeed, with the great information tool that is the Internet, your customers can get information very quickly and compare you with other merchants and service providers in just a few clicks. Consumers are generally less loyal than before to a brand or even to a craftsman. You must do everything to retain your customers but you should never take them for granted. As consumers have become fickle, we must continually ask ourselves how to attract new customers. And that goes, of course, through a concrete development strategy!
Developing a development strategy has many other advantages. It gives you height and distance and allows you to see your business as a whole. You better understand the opportunities that arise. You better distinguish the problems that seize the machine. Finally, thanks to it, you have a reassuring tool that you can refer to at any time - you, but also your partners, collaborators and employees. This road map structures and brings together all the elements of the company.
In short, your company's business strategy lets you know where you are and where you are going!

feuille-de-route-stratégique

Entrepreneurship strategy: where to start?

First two questions: who are you and who are you talking to?
Building a strategy is important, but it is still necessary to have thought about thecorporate identity. Developing a strategy for an ill-defined business is both complicated and dangerous. It is a bit like administering medical treatment without having made a diagnosis. As such, identifying yourself as a business and then identifying your typical customer profile can be considered an essential first step in designing a business strategy.

Create a corporate identity

Thebrand image just like the values of a company proceed from the corporate identity. There is something a little bit philosophical about this part of the business strategy. You can (and you should) express your aspirations and your personality during this step. This will allow you to weave a strong, original and differentiated corporate identity. This is what enables the success of businesses and entrepreneurs. Standing out, specializing, innovating while remaining authentic is more than ever the key to success. Don't ask yourself how to beat the competition : you are more than the competitor of another company. Identify your major asset. Thanks to it, you will be able to develop your unique selling point, an essential element of your communication but also of your corporate identity. It's the argument that explains why you are special, differ from your competition, and why customers should appeal to you and no one else.
Once you have defined this, you can identify your products and your services as well as the price range in which you fall. Warning ! Above all, don't base your corporate identity on a low price. Sell at low prices to attract customers is not viable when starting a business. Why ?

  • firstly because it is then very complicated to increase these prices: customers generally do not understand it and will look elsewhere;
  • secondly, because it is difficult to offer lower prices than those already charged on the market;
  • finally, because the “low price” label is very pejorative in terms of image, because it is almost always associated with the idea of poor quality.

Note that people who buy products at low prices often do so because they have no choice. When they have it, they prefer to go upmarket. It is impossible to retain a customer on a low price. It will always go to the cheapest product or service, and who says it will be yours again?

Identify your customers and the competition

Any entrepreneurial strategy obviously targets clients. However, the old adage says that “the customer is king”. Jay Abraham took up this principle by conceptualizing his " strategy of preeminence ". You have to put the needs of the customer before anything else.
So while building your corporate identity, you need to think about it. Who are you talking to? What are your personas, who is the target audience for your products or services? You have to convince the people who really need you, not the onlookers. It is therefore important to know them well. Must also identify customer needs.
Note that investigating your customers and their needs can influence your product and service proposition, and vice versa. If you realize that the customer segment you are targeting wants a product that you hadn't thought of, you can adjust your catalog. You may also find that one of your services interests an unexpected client profile. This is why you must know both your products and services and your target customers intimately!
A market research is therefore a step essential to do before any strategy development. It also allows you toidentify the competition. It is important to know it before any business creation in order to know if the sector is not too competitive. This allows you to position yourself and refine your analysis in terms of customer segments, prices, marketing methods, etc.
Following this, you can define your distribution channels (physical, commercial, e-commerce points of sale, etc.) and your communication policy (posters, flyers, press…) and digital communication (social networks, blog, mailing, advertising on search engines…).

identifier les clients

The three stages of business strategy

Have defined a corporate identity and know your customer segment are essential prerequisites in the development of any entrepreneurship strategy. These foundations will then allow you to build a development strategy perfectly suited to your business. The construction is done in three stages:

  • goals definition ;
  • identification of actions and means;
  • implementation of measurement indicators.

Define goals

In fact, there are only three ways to increase your business:

  • increase the number of customers;
  • increase the average value of the sale per customer;
  • increase the number of times the customer comes back to you.

These three growth biases can however be broken down into multiple objectives:

  • quantitative (increase in turnover, market share, etc.);
  • qualitative (developing a new product or a new service, targeting a new customer segment, etc.).

So it's up to you to define your goals according to your corporate identity, your current situation and what you want to strive for. Several goals can emerge and this is where you need to prioritize. In this regard, don't forget to set deadlines for each of your goals!

Identify actions and means

Each objective should be divided into actions, or even sub-actions if necessary. This is the “small steps” technique. It is very effective in achieving its goal because you are always in the action.
For each action, you must assign means. These means can be human (as many people responsible for such action). It can also be about communicating for the company, etc. For example, if you want to reach the number of X customers from the month you launch your activity, you can decide to offer a promotional offer for a product (by practicing a one-off price reduction) and to carry out an advertising campaign ( from flyers to Google ads).
Each of the actions must be budgeted and associated with a (reasonable) deadline. This allows you to motivate people / teams / yourself in carrying out these actions. It also helps you prioritize. Indeed, it may be relevant to deal first with actions that have a lower cost and that promise faster results: you have more visibility on your entrepreneurship strategy more quickly.

Set up measurement indicators

At each step you need measure commercial actions and analyze the results obtained. For this purpose, you need to set up indicators from the start. These can be of different types. Of course, you have to compare the financial cost of the action with its added value. This surplus value can be purely monetary, but it can also be qualitative. For example, an action may have improved your reputation and your brand image with your customers and prospects. It is also possible that you have increased your customer base or that you have reached a new customer segment. You may also have improved the working environment of your employees, which has led to better productivity. Etc. You must therefore establish performance indicators in this sense (these are the famous KPI, in English Key Performance Indicators).
The evaluation of your actions thanks to the indicators allow you to define the effectiveness of these, if they can be repeated or if they need to be improved.

indicateurs de performance

You now have the keys to a quality development strategy. Warning ! It is not enough to theorize on the subject or to throw a few lines on a piece of paper to know where you are going. It is essential to formalize in writing all the steps, from your corporate identity (is it really clear to you?) To the implementation of KPIs. This will give your business a clear roadmap that will be valuable to you, your people and your entire team. Your business strategy file will provide you with traceability on all the actions undertaken and the keys to facing obstacles and moving forward.

Need to be supported in this essential step in the creation of your business? Contact me !

This Post Has 7 Comments

Leave a Reply

Stratégie en entrepreneuriat : définissez votre plan de vol

Stratégie en entrepreneuriat : définissez votre plan de vol

Élaborer une stratégie pour son entreprise : ce qu’il faire (et ne pas faire !)

Élaborer une stratégie commerciale est incontournable quand on démarre une activité. Peu importe que vous vendiez des produits ou des services, que votre société agisse à l’international ou que vous soyez auto-entrepreneur artisan : vous êtes concerné. La stratégie est à la base d’un business model créateur de valeur. Grâce à elle, vous pouvez identifier clairement quels sont vos objectifs, puis décider des actions à entreprendre pour les atteindre. Simples et épurées, les stratégies de développement peuvent se révéler également très sophistiquées et impacter tous les aspects de votre entreprise : le marketing, le prix, la relation au client, la distribution et même le produit ou le service. Peu importe pourvu qu’elles s’adaptent à votre entreprise et à ses besoins. Le but ultime de toute stratégie en entrepreneuriat est en effet la pérennisation et le développement de votre activité. Il faut donc y penser avant tout le reste !

stratégie-entrepreneuriat

Pourquoi faut-il avoir une stratégie commerciale ?

Accepteriez-vous de vous lancer dans un trek à travers l’Amazonie sans carte et sans guide ?
Je suppose que non ! C’est un peu la même chose avec l’entrepreneuriat et ce n’est pas pour rien qu’on parle de feuille de route stratégique ou de plan de vol quand on crée ou qu’on dirige une entreprise, TPE ou grande société. La stratégie commerciale, dite encore de développement, est d’une aide précieuse à toutes les étapes de la vie d’une entreprise.

Pour créer son entreprise

Au stade du projet, concevoir une stratégie vous aide à clarifier et à structurer votre pensée, à accueillir des idées nouvelles, à opérer des ajustements. Vous évaluez le marché, vous appréhendez mieux les risques, vous prévoyez les ressources pour les minimiser et faire face aux difficultés futures. En définissant vos objectifs, vous pouvez immédiatement choisir les moyens matériels, humains et financiers qui vous permettront de les atteindre. La stratégie commerciale est un guide pour l’avenir. Précisons aussi qu’une bonne stratégie d’entreprise est un outil de communication efficace pour élaborer un business plan et échanger avec les partenaires, notamment les investisseurs comme les banques et les établissements auprès desquels vous pouvez être amené à demander des aides et des prêts.

Pour pérenniser son entreprise

Ensuite ? Ensuite, l’entreprise ne devient pas un avion piloté en automatique, qui se pérennise grâce à ses acquis. Ce modèle utopique n’est pas (ou plus ?) viable, car tout fluctue désormais très vite. L’impact de la concurrence sur l’entreprise peut être important si vous n’y prenez pas garde. En effet, avec le formidable outil d’information qu’est Internet, vos clients peuvent se renseigner très rapidement et vous comparer en quelques clics aux autres commerçants et prestataires de services. Les consommateurs sont globalement moins fidèles qu’auparavant à une marque ou même à un artisan. Vous devez tout faire pour fidéliser vos clients mais vous ne devez jamais les considérer comme acquis. Les consommateurs étant devenus volages, il faut continuellement se demander comment attirer de nouveaux clients. Et cela passe, bien entendu, par une stratégie de développement en béton !
Élaborer une stratégie de développement a bien d’autres avantages. Elle vous donne de la hauteur et de la distance et vous permet de considérer votre entreprise dans son ensemble. Vous cernez mieux les opportunités qui se présentent. Vous distinguez mieux les problèmes qui grippent la machine. Enfin, vous disposez grâce à elle d’un outil rassurant auquel vous pouvez vous référer à chaque instant — vous, mais aussi vos associés, collaborateurs et employés. Ce plan de route structure et rassemble tous les éléments de l’entreprise.
Bref, la stratégie commerciale de votre entreprise vous permet de savoir où vous êtes et où vous allez !

feuille-de-route-stratégique

Stratégie en entrepreneuriat : par où commencer ?

Deux questions d’abord : qui êtes-vous et à qui vous adressez-vous ?
Construire une stratégie, c’est important, mais encore faut-il avoir réfléchi à l’identité de son entreprise. Élaborer une stratégie pour une entreprise mal définie est à la fois compliqué et dangereux. C’est un peu comme administrer un traitement médical sans avoir opéré de diagnostic. À ce titre, s’identifier en tant qu’entreprise puis identifier son profil type de clients peut être considéré comme une première étape indispensable dans la conception d’une stratégie commerciale.

Créer une identité d’entreprise

L’image de marque tout comme les valeurs d’une société procèdent de l’identité d’entreprise. Cette partie de la stratégie commerciale a quelque chose d’un peu philosophique. Vous pouvez (et vous devez) laisser s’exprimer vos aspirations et votre personnalité lors de cette étape. Cela va vous permettre de tisser une identité d’entreprise forte, originale et différenciée. C’est ce qui permet le succès des entreprises et des entrepreneurs. Se démarquer, se spécialiser, innover tout en restant authentique est plus que jamais la clé du succès. Ne vous demandez pas comment vaincre la concurrence : vous êtes plus que le concurrent d’une autre entreprise. Identifiez votre atout majeur. Grâce à lui, vous pourrez développer votre argumentaire de vente unique, un élément essentiel de votre communication mais aussi de votre identité d’entreprise. C’est l’argument qui explique en quoi vous êtes spécial, diffèrent de vos concurrents, et pourquoi les clients doivent faire appel à vous et à personne d’autre.
Une fois que vous avez défini cela, vous pouvez identifier vos produits et vos services ainsi que la gamme de prix dans laquelle vous vous situez. Attention ! Ne basez surtout pas votre identité d’entreprise sur un prix bas. Vendre à bas prix pour attirer les clients n’est pas viable quand on démarre une activité. Pourquoi ?

  • d’abord parce qu’il est ensuite très compliqué d’augmenter ces prix : les clients ne le comprennent généralement pas et vont voir ailleurs ;
  • ensuite parce qu’il est difficile de proposer des prix inférieurs à ceux qui sont déjà pratiqués sur le marché ;
  • enfin parce que l’étiquette « prix bas » est très péjorative en terme d’image, car elle est presque toujours associée à l’idée d’une mauvaise qualité.

Précisons que les gens qui achètent des produits à bas prix le font souvent parce qu’ils n’ont pas le choix. Lorsqu’ils l’ont, ils préfèrent monter en gamme. Il est impossible de fidéliser un client sur un prix bas. Il ira toujours vers le produit ou le service le moins cher, et qui dit que ce sera encore le vôtre ?

Identifier ses clients et la concurrence

Toute stratégie en entrepreneuriat vise évidemment des clients. Or, le vieil adage dit que « le client est roi ». Jay Abraham a repris ce principe en conceptualisant sa « stratégie de la prééminence ». Vous devez faire passer les besoins du client avant toute autre chose.
Tout en construisant votre identité d’entreprise, vous devez donc penser à lui. À qui vous adressez-vous ? Quels sont vos personas, quel est le public cible auquel vous destinez vos produits ou vos prestations ? Vous devez convaincre les personnes qui ont vraiment besoin de vous, et non pas les badauds. Il est donc important de bien les connaître. Il faut aussi identifier les besoins du client.
Notez qu’enquêter sur vos clients et leurs besoins peut influencer votre proposition de produits et de prestations, et inversement. Si vous réalisez que le segment de clients que vous visiez souhaite un produit auquel vous n’aviez pas pensé, vous pouvez ajuster votre catalogue. Vous pouvez également vous rendre compte que l’une de vos prestations intéresse un profil de client inattendu. C’est pourquoi vous devez connaître intimement à la fois vos produits et prestations et vos clients cibles !
Une étude de marché est donc une étape primordiale à laquelle il faut procéder avant toute élaboration de stratégie. Elle vous permet également d’identifier la concurrence. Il est important de la connaître avant toute création d’entreprise afin de savoir si le secteur n’est pas trop concurrentiel. Cela vous permet de vous positionner et d’affiner votre analyse en terme de segments clients, de prix, de méthodes marketing, etc.
Suite à cela, vous pouvez définir vos canaux de distribution (points de vente physiques, commerciaux, e-commerce, etc.) et votre politique de communication (affichages, flyers, presse…) et communication digitale (réseaux sociaux, blog, mailing, publicité sur les moteurs de recherche…).

identifier les clients

Les trois étapes de la stratégie commerciale

Avoir défini une identité d’entreprise et connaître son segment client sont des pré-requis indispensables dans l’élaboration de toute stratégie en entrepreneuriat. Ces fondements vont permettent ensuite de construire une stratégie de développement parfaitement adaptée à votre business. La construction se fait en trois étapes :

  • définition des objectifs ;
  • identification des actions et des moyens ;
  • mise en place d’indicateurs de mesure.

Définir des objectifs

Dans les faits, il n’y a que trois façons d’accroître son activité :

  • augmenter le nombre de clients ;
  • augmenter la valeur moyenne de la vente par client ;
  • augmenter le nombre de fois où le client revient chez vous.

Ces trois biais de croissance peuvent cependant se décliner en de multiples objectifs :

  • quantitatifs (augmentation du chiffre d’affaires, de parts de marché, etc.) ;
  • qualitatifs (développer un nouveau produit ou un nouveau service, viser un nouveau segment client, etc.).

À vous donc de définir vos objectifs selon votre identité d’entreprise, votre situation actuelle et ce vers quoi vous voulez tendre. Plusieurs buts peuvent se dégager et c’est là que vous devez hiérarchiser les priorités. À ce sujet, n’oubliez pas de définir des délais pour chacun de vos objectifs !

Identifier des actions et des moyens

Chaque objectif doit être divisé en actions, voire en sous-actions si nécessaire. C’est la technique « des petits pas ». Elle est très efficace pour atteindre son but, car vous êtes toujours dans l’action.
À chaque action, vous devez assigner des moyens. Ces moyens peuvent être humains (autant de personnes chargées de telle action). Il peut aussi s’agir de faire de la communication pour l’entreprise, etc. Par exemple, si vous souhaitez atteindre le nombre de X clients dès le mois de lancement de votre activité, vous pouvez décider de proposer une offre promotionnelle pour un produit (en pratiquant une baisse de prix ponctuelle) et de procéder à une campagne de publicité (des flyers aux annonces Google).
Chacune des actions doit être budgétisée et associée à un délai (raisonnable). Cela vous permet de motiver les personnes / les équipes / vous-même dans la réalisation de ces actions. Cela vous aide également à prioriser. En effet, il peut être pertinent de s’occuper d’abord des actions qui ont un moindre coût et qui promettent des résultats plus rapides : vous avez ainsi plus rapidement de la visibilité sur votre stratégie en entrepreneuriat.

Mettre en place des indicateurs de mesure

À chaque étape, vous avez besoin de mesurer les actions commerciales et d’analyser les résultats obtenus. Dans ce but, vous devez mettre en place des indicateurs dès le début. Ceux-ci peuvent être de différents types. Bien sûr, vous devez comparer le coût financier de l’action à sa plus-value. Cette plus-value peut être purement monétaire, mais elle peut aussi être qualitative. Une action peut par exemple avoir amélioré votre réputation et votre image de marque auprès de vos clients et prospects. Il est possible aussi que vous ayez augmenté votre clientèle ou que vous ayez atteint un nouveau segment client. Vous pouvez aussi avoir amélioré l’environnement de travail de vos collaborateurs, ce qui a induit une meilleure productivité. Etc. Vous devez donc établir des indicateurs de performance dans ce sens (ce sont les fameux KPI, en anglais Key Performance Indicators).
L’évaluation de vos actions grâce aux indicateurs vous permettent de définir l’efficacité de celles-ci, si elles peuvent être réitérées ou s’il faut les améliorer.

indicateurs de performance

Vous avez désormais en main les clés d’une stratégie de développement de qualité. Attention ! Il ne suffit pas de théoriser sur le sujet ni de jeter quelques lignes sur un bout de papier pour savoir où vous allez. Il est essentiel de formaliser par écrit toutes les étapes, depuis votre identité d’entreprise (est-elle vraiment claire pour vous ?) jusqu’à la mise en place des KPI. Cela donnera à votre entreprise un plan de route clair, qui sera précieux pour vous, pour vos collaborateurs et pour l’ensemble de votre équipe. Votre dossier de stratégie commerciale vous apportera une traçabilité sur toutes les actions entreprises et des clés pour affronter les obstacles et aller de l’avant.

Besoin d’être accompagné dans cette étape incontournable de création de votre entreprise ? Contactez-moi !

Cet article a 3 commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Fermer le menu