Management transverse : la solution pour votre entreprise ?

Cross-functional management: the solution for your company?

Run a company in which the employees work in harmony and in autonomy: you may dream of it.

You see a solution to the mass of time-consuming tasks who assail you as VSE or SME manager. Set up a new form of management so as not to be an overwhelmed man-orchestra.

The transversal collaboration, or even cross-functional management, is of great interest to you. However, you are wondering about this transversal management : what disadvantages does it imply? In which cases to put it in place? And, above all, how do you ensure that your employees welcome it?

Transversal management: definition

But, in fact, what exactly is transversal management? Let's make a point to clear up any misunderstanding.

An alternative to hierarchical management

Currently, your company may have a style of traditional management, i.e. hierarchical.

In this directive system, the manager gives tasks to the employees and tells them how to perform them. Each employee is accountable. In VSEs and SMEs, the manager is sometimes the entrepreneur himself. It's you.

To caricature this system very badly, it's a bit like leading a bunch of lemmings. 😉 Your employees are not always aware of the meaning and the stakes of each action and they can go up against the wall without realizing it.

Cross-functional management works without hierarchical link.

Non-hierarchical transversal management: operation

In a transversal system, your teams work together. These may be departments or employees with different skills. They work together to achieve a common goal when no hierarchical link unites them and they may even belong to different departments.

This does not mean that they do not have their own supervisor. But, within the framework of a transversal management, they evade the authority of this one. A manager says transversal steers this gathering of employees.

Thecross-functional management organization chart below shows you how this system works:

organigramme de management transversal
This organization chart shows the horizontal links that exist between managers and employees. The cross-functional manager may be you!

This management method can work as well for ephemeral work groups as for sustainable projects. We also note that certain functions are in essence transversal in a company. What is a transversal function ? This is for example management, finance, human resources, etc. Because these are functions that naturally lead to transversal communication and sharing of means and resources.

Obviously, depending on the size of your company, this management takes different forms. If you run a VSE, you probably have employees who provide a service on their own. In your case, transversal management could be that much easier to set up… provided you know how to go about it. 😉

Towards participatory management?

Transversal management decompartmentalizes services and leads to more flexibility and autonomy. The participating management go even further by involving employees in decision-making to achieve business goals and solve business problems.

This type of horizontal management relies on thecollective intelligence !

Transversal management: what disadvantages and what advantages for you? Is this type of management suitable for your structure?

What are the applications of transversal management?

There are several forms of transversal management. They serve different purposes.

Project management

In this context, transversal management is often ephemeral.

You bring together several collaborators or several departments in order to carry out a well-identified project (for example, delivering a product to a customer). There is a deadline.

Sometimes it even involves other companies. We then speak of inter-company collaboration. I will tell you about it in a future article.

Process management

This type of management is by definition transversal. In any case, it seems logical to approach it this way.

Indeed, process management consists of mobilizing all sectors of a company to improve systems on different levels: customer satisfaction, human resources and, in general, overall business performance.

This type of management is more frequent in large companies which have several strategic activity sectors (in English business unit), because it is a question of granting teams with very diverse and scattered means and resources.

Network management

This type of management is very present in our era of digital explosion.

It is also very interesting for you as a VSE or SME manager.

In this context, you or the person you choose as transversal manager brings together people with similar professional interests (skills, logistics, etc.). It ensures the dynamics of the group, creates spaces for sharing, puts professionals in touch.

In this type of management, you exploit collective intelligence even more since you will seek the skills and knowledge outside the company. The goal remains the same: performance and the achievement of your objectives.

Here too, you can use inter-company collaboration.

Teleworking management

It is possible that the Covid 19 pandemic forced you to adopt the teleworking for your employees.

In this case, the transversal approach of this management method will be very useful to you. The levers for teleworking management are in fact identical to those for cross-functional management. They require great confidence in your employees. They promote autonomy and communication. The business leader or the transversal manager must learn to lead his teams in a more horizontal way.

Transversal management: what disadvantages and what advantages?

Concretely, what does a transversal management system bring you compared to hierarchical management?

Cross-functional management: its advantages

The big advantage is obviously mobilize skills for the benefit of an objective.

Whether you are managing only internally or looking for talent outside the company, you benefit much better from a emulation and mutual aid effect between employees and departments. This is all the more true if your culture and corporate values are well established among your employees.

Collective brainstorming and meetings between people who are not used to working together promote inventiveness and creativity. They allow problems to be approached from new perspectives and to develop new solutions. While employees who always work together tend to take the same paths to achieve their goal (and always face the same unresolved problems: remember our famous lemmings 😉).

The limits of transversal management

The drawbacks of this type of management are more complex in large structures. Indeed, if your company has several departments, there may be conflict of authorities between the transversal manager and the direct manager (s) of the employees involved in the process. I refer you to the organization chart given above.

Conflicts can appear during the transition to transversal management if it has not been well prepared.

The relationship between the different people involved needs to be clarified. Theorganization and the communication must be fluid for everything to work at its best. I often notice a problem when the transition between hierarchical management and transversal management was made too quickly, without having given everyone the time to prepare (organizationally, but also psychologically).

Moreover, as a business leader, you may also have a little trouble making this transition, even if you feel like it and the initiative comes from you!

Which brings us to this crucial question: how to make this transition under the best conditions? Under what conditions can transversal management succeed?

How to promote transversality in the company?

Transversal management: what drawbacks must we overcome in order to mobilize all the players around this important change? As we have seen, it is an organizational as well as a psychological question.
Making a transition between directive and cross-functional management is relatively delicate. I see several levers essential to the success of the process.

Empathy between leaders, managers and employees

You will redefine the sharp boundaries that exist in a vertical organization. For everyone to find their place in this new organization, you need to know put yourself in other people's shoes.
Your challenges as a leading entrepreneur must be clear to your employees. Conversely, you and your potential managers must understand the difficulties encountered by your employees when you ask them to adapt to and invest in a new reality.

External help is often welcome in this context. A management coach can help you throughscenario exercises.

Valuing your employees

Cross-functional management requires more investment from your employees. They receive less direction and have to show more initiative. They are no longer content to simply apply instructions, they get involved in issues, difficulties and solutions.

In normal times, it is already essential to value the work of its employees, but it is even more necessary in this new context. Give feedback to your employees. Showcase and reward achievements to motivate your team. Show them your trust : it is essential.
It is excellent for the well-being of your employees, so for theworking environment, productivity, efficiency and performance!

The meaning of the actions and objectives of the company

In highly hierarchical structures, employees sometimes do things without knowing why… They do it because their supervisor tells them to.

In transversal management, this is totally impossible. How to show initiative and creativity when you do not understand the issues? Every action and every goal must make sense.

This does not only concern the collective challenges of the company. It is also important to give a personal motivation to your employees. What do they have to gain in exchange for their investment (which, I remind you, is necessarily more important than in old-fashioned management)? More skills, more remuneration, more recognition, ambitious challenges?

Cross-functional management: what disadvantages can your employees accept and under what conditions?

With cross-functional management, you will ask your employees for more. You will especially ask them to change their habits and we know how difficult it is for everyone. Know how to convince them!

Cross-functional communication, the backbone of management

Wanting to manage transversally without modifying and improving business communication is very risky.

Understand that you are going to bring together people who do not usually work together. Your role as a leader (or the role of the transversal manager if you delegate this responsibility) is to disseminate information equally among all. You must provide them with all the elements: the objectives (and the why of those objectives), the results (as and when you have them), the methods of each other, the modifications, etc.

Communicate in all directions, it's the sinews of war!

Time, for you and for your employees

You know the expression: "Rome was not made in a day"? Don't try to radically transform your management. Especially not to impose it on your team. If you do this, you are going to face an outcry!

Humans are made this way: they don't like change. Let us add that French entrepreneurship is very much anchored in a hierarchical management model. It takes time to get people used to other processes.

In fact, you too may need to adapt to new ways of running your business. Cross-functional management will require a new organization, another timetable (lightened, I promise you!) and new reflexes. Are you ready for this?

Take the time to prepare yourself and your employees for the transition to a new management model.

Managing is not an easy task for a business leader, especially when he has not been trained in this (which is often the case for VSE managers). Transversal management, by its flexibility and its "agile" side, perhaps tempts you. It is synonymous for you with decrease in time-consuming managerial tasks that is your responsibility every day. But it must be operated with intelligence to be well accepted by all.

Transversal management: what disadvantages are you going to have to overcome? For what advantages? How to guide your employees in this important step?

What if you were considering a transversal management training to make this transition a success?

I am executive coach, specialized in management, strategy and business organization. I support you at the same time:

  • to structurally operate the transition to transversal management that will be well accepted by your employees;
  • to help you personally adapt to these changes psychologically and organizationally.

Contact me for a first interview completely free !

Pictures: Keith johnstonmhougeStockSnap

Leave a Reply

Management transverse : la solution pour votre entreprise ?

Management transverse : la solution pour votre entreprise ?

Diriger une entreprise dans laquelle les employés travaillent en harmonie et en autonomie : vous en rêvez peut-être.

Vous y voyez une solution face à la masse de tâches chronophages qui vous assaillent en tant que dirigeant de TPE ou PME. Mettre en place une nouvelle forme de management pour ne plus être un homme-orchestre débordé.

La collaboration transverse, ou encore le management transverse, vous intéresse donc beaucoup. Vous vous posez cependant des questions sur ce management transversal : quels inconvénients implique-t-il ? Dans quels cas le mettre en place ? Et, surtout, comment faire en sorte que vos collaborateurs l’accueillent favorablement ?

Management transversal : définition

Mais, au fait, c’est quoi exactement, le management transversal ? Faisons un point pour lever tout malentendu.

Une alternative au management hiérarchique

Actuellement, votre entreprise applique peut-être un style de management traditionnel, c’est-à-dire hiérarchique.

Dans ce système directif, le manager donne des tâches aux employés et leur dit comment les effectuer. Chaque collaborateur rend des comptes. Dans les TPE et PME, le manager est parfois le chef d’entreprise lui-même. C’est vous.

Pour caricaturer ce système très méchamment, c’est un peu comme si vous dirigiez une bande de lemmings. 😉 Vos employés ne sont pas toujours au courant du sens et des enjeux de chaque action et ils peuvent aller dans le mur sans s’en rendre compte.

Le management transversal, lui, fonctionne sans lien hiérarchique.

Le management transversal non hiérarchique : fonctionnement

Dans un système transversal, vos équipes travaillent ensemble. Il peut s’agir de services ou d’employés ayant des compétences différentes. Ils collaborent afin d’atteindre un objectif commun alors qu’aucun lien hiérarchique ne les unit et qu’ils appartiennent même peut-être à des services différents.

Cela ne signifie pas qu’ils n’ont pas leur propre supérieur hiérarchique. Mais, dans le cadre d’un management transversal, ils se soustraient à l’autorité de celui-ci. Un manager dit transversal pilote ce rassemblement de collaborateurs.

L’organigramme de management transversal ci-dessous vous indique le fonctionnement de ce système :

organigramme de management transversal
Cet organigramme montre les liens horizontaux qui existent entre managers et collaborateurs. Le manager transverse, c’est peut-être vous !

Ce mode de management peut fonctionner aussi bien pour des groupes de travail éphémères que pour des projets durables. On remarque d’ailleurs que certaines fonctions sont par essence transversales dans une entreprise. Qu’est-ce qu’une fonction transversale ? C’est par exemple la direction, le service des finances, les ressources humaines, etc. Car ce sont des fonctions qui amènent naturellement à une communication transversale et à un partage de moyens et de ressources.

Évidemment, selon la taille de votre entreprise, ce management prend des formes différentes. Si vous dirigez une TPE, vous avez probablement des collaborateurs qui assurent un service à eux tout seuls. Dans votre cas, le management transversal pourrait être d’autant plus simple à mettre en place… pourvu que vous sachiez comment vous y prendre. 😉

Vers un management participatif ?

Le management transversal décloisonne les services et amène à plus de souplesse et d’autonomie. Le management participatif va plus loin encore en impliquant les salariés dans la prise de décisions pour atteindre les objectifs et résoudre les problèmes de l’entreprise.

Ce type de management horizontal mise à fond sur l’intelligence collective !

Management transversal : quels inconvénients et quels avantages pour vous ? Ce type de management est-il adapté à votre structure ?

Quelles sont les applications du management transversal ?

On trouve plusieurs formes de management transversal. Elles servent des objectifs différents.

Management de projets

Dans ce cadre, le management transverse est souvent éphémère.

Vous rassemblez plusieurs collaborateurs ou plusieurs services dans le but de réaliser un projet bien identifié (par exemple, livrer un produit à un client). Il y a un délai à respecter.

Parfois, cela implique même d’autres entreprises. On parle alors de collaboration inter-entreprises. Je vous en parlerai dans un prochain article.

Management par les processus

Ce type de management est par définition transversal. En tout cas, il semble logique de l’aborder de cette façon.

En effet, le management par processus consiste à mobiliser tous les secteurs d’une entreprise pour améliorer les dispositifs sur différents plans : la satisfaction client, les ressources humaines et, de manière générale, la performance globale de l’entreprise.

Ce type de management est plus fréquent dans les grosses sociétés qui ont plusieurs secteurs d’activités stratégiques (en anglais des business unit), car il s’agit d’accorder des équipes aux moyens et aux ressources très diversifiés et éparpillés.

Management de réseau

Ce type de management est très présent à notre époque d’explosion du numérique.

Il est aussi très intéressant pour vous en tant que dirigeant de TPE ou de PME.

Dans ce cadre, vous ou la personne que vous choisissez comme manager transversal réunit des personnes qui ont des intérêts professionnels identiques (compétences, logistique, etc.). Il assure la dynamique du groupe, crée des espaces de partage, met des professionnels en relation.

Dans ce type de management, vous exploitez encore plus l’intelligence collective puisque vous allez chercher les compétences et les connaissances en dehors de l’entreprise. Le but reste le même : la performance et l’atteinte de vos objectifs.

Là aussi, vous pouvez avoir recours à la collaboration inter-entreprises.

Management en télétravail

Il est possible que la pandémie de Covid 19 vous ait forcé à adopter le télétravail pour vos collaborateurs.

Dans ce cas, l’approche transversale de ce mode de management vous sera très utile. Les leviers de management en télétravail sont en effet identiques à ceux du management transverse. Ils nécessitent une grande confiance en vos collaborateurs. Ils favorisent l’autonomie et la communication. Le chef d’entreprise ou le manager transversal doit apprendre à animer ses équipes d’une façon plus horizontale.

Management transversal : quels inconvénients et quels avantages ?

Concrètement, que vous apporte un système de management transverse par rapport à un management hiérarchique ?

Management transversal : ses avantages

Le gros avantage est évidemment de mobiliser les compétences au profit d’un objectif.

Que vous managiez uniquement en interne ou que vous alliez chercher des talents en dehors de l’entreprise, vous profitez beaucoup mieux d’un effet d’émulation et d’entraide entre collaborateurs et services. Cela est d’autant plus vrai si votre culture et vos valeurs d’entreprise sont bien ancrées parmi vos employés.

Les brainstorming collectifs et les rencontres entre des personnes qui n’ont pas l’habitude de travailler ensemble favorisent l’inventivité et la créativité. Ils permettent d’aborder les problèmes avec de nouvelles perspectives et d’élaborer des solutions inédites. Alors que des collaborateurs qui travaillent toujours ensemble ont tendance à emprunter les mêmes chemins pour atteindre leur but (et à se confronter toujours aux mêmes problèmes non résolus : souvenez-vous de nos fameux lemmings 😉 ).

Les limites du management transversal

Les inconvénients de ce type de management sont plus complexes dans les grosses structures. En effet, si votre entreprise compte plusieurs services, il peut y avoir conflit d’autorités entre le manager transversal et le ou les managers directs des collaborateurs engagés dans le processus. Je vous renvoie à l’organigramme donné plus haut.

Des conflits peuvent apparaître lors de la transition au management transverse si celle-ci n’a pas été bien préparée.

Les rapports entre les différentes personnes concernées doivent être clarifiés. L’organisation et la communication doivent être fluides pour que tout fonctionne au mieux. Je remarque souvent un problème lorsque la transition entre un management hiérarchique et un management transversal a été faite trop vite, sans avoir laissé à chacun le temps de se préparer (organisationnellement, mais aussi psychologiquement).

D’ailleurs, en tant que chef d’entreprise, il est possible que vous ayez aussi un peu de mal à opérer cette transition, même si vous en avez envie et que l’initiative vient de vous !

Ce qui nous amène à cette question cruciale : comment opérer cette transition dans les meilleures conditions ? Sous quelles conditions le management transversal peut-il réussir ?

Comment favoriser la transversalité dans l’entreprise ?

Management transversal : quels inconvénients faut-il dépasser pour mobiliser tous les acteurs autour de ce changement important ? Nous l’avons vu, c’est une question aussi bien organisationnelle que psychologique.
Opérer une transition entre management directif et transverse est relativement délicat. Je vois plusieurs leviers indispensables à la réussite du processus.

L’empathie entre dirigeant, managers et collaborateurs

Vous allez redéfinir les frontières nettes qui existent dans une organisation verticale. Pour que chacun trouve sa place dans cette nouvelle organisation, il faut savoir se mettre à la place des autres.
Vos enjeux d’entrepreneur dirigeant doivent être clairs pour vos employés. Inversement, vous et vos éventuels managers devez comprendre les difficultés rencontrées par vos collaborateurs quand vous leur demandez de s’adapter à une nouvelle réalité et de s’y investir.

Une aide extérieure est souvent la bienvenue dans ce contexte. Un coach en management peut vous aider par le biais d’exercices de mise en situation.

La valorisation de vos employés

Le management transverse demande plus d’investissement à vos collaborateurs. Ils reçoivent moins de directives et doivent faire preuve de plus d’initiatives. Ils ne se contentent plus d’appliquer des consignes, ils s’impliquent dans les enjeux, les difficultés, les solutions.

En temps normal, il est déjà indispensable de valoriser le travail de ses employés, mais cela est encore plus nécessaire dans ce nouveau contexte. Faites des retours à vos collaborateurs. Mettez en valeur et récompensez les réussites pour motiver votre équipe. Manifestez-leur votre confiance : elle est essentielle.
C’est excellent pour le bien-être de vos collaborateurs, donc pour l’environnement au travail, la productivité, l’efficacité et la performance !

Le sens des actions et des objectifs de l’entreprise

Dans les structures très hiérarchisées, il arrive que les employés fassent des choses sans savoir pourquoi… Ils le font car leur supérieur le leur dit.

Dans un management transverse, c’est totalement impossible. Comment faire preuve d’initiatives et de créativité quand on ne comprend pas les enjeux ? Chaque action et chaque objectif doivent faire sens.

Cela ne concerne pas seulement les enjeux collectifs de l’entreprise. Il est important aussi de donner une motivation personnelle à vos collaborateurs. Qu’ont-ils à gagner en échange de leur investissement (qui, je vous le rappelle, est nécessairement plus important que dans un management à l’ancienne) ? Plus de compétences, plus de rémunération, plus de reconnaissance, des challenges ambitieux ?

Management transversal : quels inconvénients vos collaborateurs peuvent-ils accepter et sous quelles conditions ?

Avec un management transverse, vous allez en demander plus à vos employés. Vous allez surtout leur demander de changer leurs habitudes et on sait à quel point cela est difficile pour tout le monde. Sachez les convaincre !

La communication transversale, le nerf du management

Vouloir manager de manière transversale sans modifier et améliorer la communication d’entreprise est très risqué.

Comprenez bien que vous allez rassembler des personnes qui ne travaillent pas ensemble d’habitude. Votre rôle en tant que dirigeant (ou le rôle du manager transversal si vous déléguez cette responsabilité) est de diffuser les informations de manière égale entre tous. Vous devez leur fournir tous les éléments : les objectifs (et le pourquoi des ces objectifs), les résultats (au fur et à mesure que vous en avez), les méthodes des uns et des autres, les modifications, etc.

Communiquez tous azimuts, c’est le nerf de la guerre !

Le temps, pour vous et pour vos collaborateurs

Vous connaissez l’expression : « Rome ne s’est pas faite en un jour » ? N’essayez pas de transformer votre management de manière radicale. Surtout pas de l’imposer à votre équipe. Si vous faites cela, vous allez faire face à une levée de boucliers !

Les humains sont ainsi faits : ils n’aiment pas les changements. Ajoutons que l’entrepreneuriat français est très ancré dans un modèle de management hiérarchique. Il faut du temps pour habituer les gens à d’autres processus.

D’ailleurs, vous avez peut-être, vous aussi, besoin de vous adapter à de nouvelles façons de diriger votre entreprise. Un management transverse va nécessiter une nouvelle organisation, un autre emploi du temps (allégé, je vous le promets !) et de nouveaux réflexes. Êtes-vous prêt à cela ?

Prenez le temps de vous préparer, vous et vos collaborateurs, à la transition vers un nouveau modèle de management.

Manager n’est pas une tâche facile pour un chef d’entreprise, surtout quand il n’a pas été formé à cela (ce qui est souvent le cas des dirigeants de TPE). Le management transversal, par sa souplesse et son côté « agile », vous tente peut-être. Il est synonyme pour vous d’une baisse des tâches chronophages de direction qui vous incombe chaque jour. Mais il doit être opéré avec intelligence pour être bien accepté par tous.

Management transversal : quels inconvénients allez-vous devoir dépasser ? Pour quels avantages ? Comment guider vos collaborateurs dans cette étape importante ?

Et si vous envisagiez une formation au management transversal pour réussir cette transition ?

Je suis coach de dirigeants, spécialisé en management, en stratégie et en organisation d’entreprise. Je vous accompagne à la fois :

  • pour opérer structurellement le passage à un management transverse qui sera bien accepté par vos collaborateurs ;
  • pour vous aider à vous adapter personnellement à ces changements au point de vue psychologique et organisationnel.

Contactez-moi pour un premier entretien entièrement gratuit !

Images : Keith JohnstonmhougeStockSnap

Laisser un commentaire